Super Junior Profile

Published March 27, 2011 by thejewelholic

Super Junior (슈퍼주니어) is a Korean BoyBand. They debuted in 2005 with the single “TWINS (Knock Out)”  with twelve members on November 6, 2005, but since the addition of Kyuhyun in May 23, 2006, they have become a thirteen-member group.





The members are Leeteuk (the leader), Heechul, Hankyung, Yesung, Kang-in, Shindong, Sungmin, Eunhyuk, Donghae, Siwon, Ryeowook, Kibum, and Kyuhyun. The Chinese member, Hankyung, was chosen among 3,000 applicants through auditions held in China by SM Entertainment in 2001.

In early 2005,Lee Soo Man (president of SM Entertainment) confirmed the news and announced that an all-boy project group of twelve members would debut near the end of the year, promoting this singing group to be “The Gateway to Stardom of Asia.” He announced that that most members in this group were chosen because of their performing experiences as actors, MCs, models, and radio hosts prior debut. Heechul and Kibum were already established entertainers, and most of the other members had already made various kinds of appearances on television and media. Highly inspired by the rotational concept of Japan’s girl group Morning Musume, this group would also experience line-up changes, with new members replacing some selected members every year to keep the group constantly young and all-rounded. This concept was then newly introduced to the K-pop market.

At the first time, the group was rumored to be called O.V.E.R, the acronym for “Obey the Voice for Each Rhythm.” However, before the group settled with their current name, SM simply referred to them as Junior, a representation of the members’ young ages when they first became SM trainees. After the members showcased their different talents to the company at a picnic, the company finalized their concept name to Super Junior. The group thereafter became officially Super Junior 05, the first generation of Super Junior.

Super Junior 05 made their pre-debut on the Korean channel Mnet on September 11, 2005. At the showcase, they performed various styles of hip hop dancing. The group danced to B2K’s “Take It To The Floor.” Han Geng, Eunhyuk, and Donghae also performed a separate dance away from the group, dancing to Usher’s “Caught Up.” However, the performance did not air on television until May 16, 2006 as a segment in the Super Junior Show, the group’s first television documentary.

Because of their big success, the company change their name from Super junior 05 to Super Junior and added one more member, Kyuhyun as the magnae.

it’s Kyuhyun, The “Evil” Magnae

As of 2010, only 10 members are active, due to Kang-in’s leave of absence for mandatory military service, Hankyung’s ongoing lawsuit against SM Entertainment, and Kibum’s pursuit of other interests.

it’s Kangin, Who’s in the army now

it’s Hankyung, He choose to be a solo singer now

it’s Kibum, He vacuum on Suju from 2009-2010


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: